Awards of the Montreal World Film Festival - 1996





Jeanne Moreau, actress and director (France) president

Judit Elek, director (Hungary)

Assumpta Serna, actress (Spain)

Guglielmo Biraghi, film critic (Italy)

Denis Héroux, producer and director (Canada)

Humberto Solas, director (Cuba)

Kenneth Turan, film critic (U.S.A.)




Feature films:


Grand prix of the Americas / Best film:

« Different For Girls » by Richard Spence (Great Britain)


Spécial Grand Prix of the jury:

« Un Air de famille » by Cédric Klapisch (France)


« Sleeping Man » (Nemuru Otoko) by Kohei Oguri (Japan)


Prix de la mise en scène:

« L’Élève » (The Pupil) by Olivier Schatzky (France)


Best Actress:

Laura Dern in the film « Citizen Ruth » by Alexander Payne (U.S.A.)


Best Actor:

Rupert Graves in the film « Intimate Relations » by Philip Goodhew (Great Britain/Canada)


Best Screenplay:

« Adosados » by Mario Camus, screenplay by Mario Camus and Felix Bayón (Spain)


Best artistic contribution:

Chul-Soo Park for the film « Farewell My Darling » (South Korea) pour its originality in helping us discover a community through its funerary rituals.


Short films:


1er Prize:

« Dinner For Two » by Janet Perlman (Canada)


2nd Prize:

« De  Jazmin en Flor » by Daniel Gruener (Mexico)


Other Awards:


On the occasion of its 20th anniversary, the World Film Festival has awarded the following prizes:

Career Excellence Award:

Nicolas Cage

Special Grand prix of the Americas for their exceptional contribution to the art of cinema:

Nikita Mikhalkov (director and actor)

Arthur Lamothe (director)

Paolo et Vittorio Taviani (directors)

Jan Troëll (director)

Nusat Fateh Ali Khan (music)


Air Canada People’s Choice Award:

« Un Air de famille » by Cédric Klapisch (France)


Best Canadian FedEx film Award:

« Lillies » by John Greyson


Montréal Award for the best first fiction film:

« Okaeri » by Makoto Shinozaki (Japan)

Special mention to:

« Nekrologji » by Fatmir Koçi (Albania)

for the originality of its conception.


International critics’ award (FIPRESCI):

For film in Competition:

« Adosados » by Mario Camus (Spain)

For feature film out of competition:

« Okaeri » by Makoto Shinozaki (Japan)


Oecumenical jury award:

« Hamsun » by Jan Troëll (Denmark/Norway/Germany/Sweden)

Spéciale Mention of the oecumenical jury:

« Gentle Into the Night » by Antonio Baiocco (Italy/Great Britain/France)


Back to Press releases list