Awards of the Montreal World Film Festival - 1992




Kathleen Carroll, film critic (U.S.A)

Aimée Danis, producer (Canada)

Pierre-Henri Deleau, dir. Directors’ Fortnight, Cannes (France)

Yasushi Kawarabata, film critic (Japan)

Miguel Littin, director (Chile)

Francisco Rabal, actor (Spain)

Mark Rydell, director (U.S.A.)




Feature films


Grand Prix of the Americas / Best film:

« El lado oscuro del corazón » (The Dark Side of the Heart) by Eliseo Subiela (Argentina-Canada)


Special Grand Prix of the Jury:

« Sofie » by Liv Ullmann (Denmark)


Best director:

« The Blue Danube Waltz » (Kek Duna Keringo) by Miklos Jancso (Hungary-France-U.S.A.)


Best actress:

Pascale Bussières in « Phantom Life » (La Vie fantôme) by Jacques Leduc (Canada)


Best Actor:

Richard Berry in « Le Petit prince a dit » by Christine Pascal (France)


Best screenplay:

« Le Petit prince a dit » by Christine Pascal (France), screenplay by Christine Pascal and Robert Boner


Best artistic contribution for photography:

« Sunday’s Children » by Daniel Bergman (Sweden), photography by Tony Forsberg.


Short films:


Best short film:

« A Feather Tale » by Michèle Cournoyer (Canada)


Jury’s award for short film:

« The Beach » by Patrick Bokanowski (France)


Other awards:


Montreal Award for the best first feature film:

« Acting Out » (Little Sharks) (Kleine Haie) by Sonke Wortmann (Germany)

Special mentions:

« Mozart Quarter » (Quartier Mozart) by Jean-Pierre Bekolo (Cameroon)

« Sunday’s Children » by Daniel Bergman (Sweden)

« Vacas » by Julio Medem (Spain)


Air Canada Award for the most popular film:

« Sofie » by Liv Ullmann (Denmark)


Super Ecran Award for the most popular Canadian film:

« Phantom Life » (La Vie fantôme) by Jacques Leduc (Canada)


International critics’ award (FIPRESCI):

For films in competition:

« Sunday’s Children » by Daniel Bergman (Sweden)

For films out of competition:

« Baraka » by Ron Fricke (U.S.A.)

Special mention:

« Blast’em » by Joseph Blasioli, Egidio Coccimiglio (Canada)


Ecumenical jury award:

« Sofie » by Liv Ullmann (Denmark)

Special mention of the ecumenical jury:

« La Valle di Pietra » by Maurizio Zaccaro (Italy)



Back to Press releases list