Awards of the Montreal World Film Festival - 1991




Charles Champlin, film critic (U.S.A) president

Leonardo de la Fuente, producer (France)

Chen Kaige, director (China)

Giuliana de Sio, actess (Italy)

Kim Soo-Yong, director (South Korea)

Jean-Claude Labrecque, director (Canada)

Helma Sanders-Brahms, director (Germany)




Feature films:

 Grand Prix of the Americas / Best film:

« Salmonberries » by Percy Adlon (Germany)


Special Grand Prix of the Jury:

« North » (Nord) by Xavier Beauvois (France)


Best director:

« Volere Volare » by Maurizio Nichetti (Italy)


Best Actress:

Laura Dern in « Rambling Rose » by Martha Coolidge (U.S.A.)

Lee Huesuk in « Silver Stallion » by Chang Kil-Soo (South Korea)


Best Actor:

Francisco Rabal in « L’Homme qui a perdu son ombre » by Alain Tanner (Spain-Switzerland-France)


Best screenplay:

« Silver Stallion » by Chang Kil-Soo (South Korea), screenplay by Chang Kil-Soo and Cho Che-Hung


Best artistic contribution for photography:

« La Demoiselle sauvage » by Lea Pool (Canada-Switzerland), photography by Georges Dufaux

« Children of Nature » by Fridrik Thor Fridriksson (Iceland), photography by Ari Kristinsson.


Short films:

 Best short film:

« Words, Words, Words » (Reci, reci, reci) by Michaela Pavlatova (Czechoslovakia)


Jury award for best short film:

« The Irises » by Suzanne Gervais and Jacques Giraldeau (Canada)


Other awards:

 Montreal Award for best first feature film:

« La Mujer de Benjamin » by Carlos Carrera (Mexico)

« North » (Nord) by Xavier Beauvois (France)

Honorary mention to:

« Freud Leaving Home » by Suzanne Bier (Sweden-Denmark)


Air Canada Award for the most popular film of the Festival:

« Volere Volare » by Maurizio Nichetti (Italy)


Super Ecran Award for the Best Canadian film:

« La Demoiselle sauvage » by Lea Pool (Canada-Switzerland)


International Critics’ Award (FIPRESCI):

For films in competition:

« North » (Nord) by Xavier Beauvois (France)

For films out of competition:

« The Death of Otrar » by Ardak Amirkoulov (U.S.S.R.)

« Plastic Jesus » by Lazar Stojanovic (Yugoslavia)


Ecumenical Jury Award:

« War and Youth » by Tadashi Imai (Japan)

Mention of the ecumenical jury:

« Exiles » by Imre Gyongyossy, Barna Kabay, Katalin Petenyi )Hungary-Germany)


Back to Press releases list