Awards of the Montreal World Film Festival - 1984





Marta Meszaros, director (Hungary) President

Smita Patil, actress (India)

Ted Allan, writer and script-writer (Canada)

Gabriel Arcand, actor (Canada)

Ciro Duran, director (Colombia)

Gilles Jacob, film critic, dir. of the Cannes Film Festival (France)

Slobodan Sijan, director (Yugoslavia)




Feature films:


Grand Prix of the Americas / Best film:

« El Norte » by Gregory Nava (U.S.A.)


Special jury awards:

« La Femme publique » by Andrzej Zulawski (France)

« Khandar » by Mrinal Sen (Inde)


Special jury award:

Katharine Hepburn for her interpretation in the film « The Ultimate Solution of Grace Quigley » and for her exceptional achievements in cinema.


Best actress:

Dorottya Udvaros in the film « Oh Bloody Life » by Peter Bacso (Hungary)


Best actor:

John Shea in the film « Windy City » by Armyan Bernstein (U.S.A.)


Jury award for a young cinematography:

« The Inheritors » (Die Herben) by Walter Bannert (Austria)


Jury award for best screenplay:

« The Balkan Spy » by Bozidar Nikolic and Dusan Kovacevic (Yugoslavia)


Short films:

Montreal grand prix:

« Every Day... Every Night » by Kathy Mueller (Australia)


Jury award:

« The Pendulum, the Pit and Hope » by Jan Svankmajer (Czechoslovakia)


Other awards:

Carlsberg international press prize for the best Canadian feature film out of competition:

« La Femme de l'hôtel » by Lea Pool (Canada)


Air Canada award for the most popular film of the Festival:

« La Femme publique » by Andrzej Zulawski (France)


Back to Press releases list