Awards of the Montreal World Film Festival - 1999





Bibi Andersson, actress (Sweden), president

Percy Adlon, director (Germany)

Charlotte Laurier, actress (Canada)

Mario Monicelli, director (Italy)

Pat O’Connor, director (Ireland)

Stephen Rea, actress (Ireland)

Fernando Solanas, director (Argentina)




Feature films:


Grand Prix of the Americas (Best film):

The Colour of Paradise” by Majid Majidi (Iran)


Special Grand Prix of the Jury:

“Fuori dal mondo” (Not of this World) by Giuseppe Piccioni (Italie)

The Minus Man” by Hampton Fancher (U.S.A.)


Best Director:

“Post Mortem” by Louis Bélanger (Canada)


Best Artistic Contribution:

Goya en Burdeos(Goya in Bordeaux) by Carlos Saura (Spain)


Prix d’interprétation féminine:

Nina Hoss for the film “Der Vulkan” directed by Ottokar Runze (Germany)


Prix d’interprétation masculine:

Ken Takakura for the film “Poppoya” directed by Yasuo Furuhata (Japan)


Best screenplay:

“Ma Petite entreprise” (My Little Business) by Pierre Jolivet, screenplay by Pierre Jolivet and Simon Michaël (France)



Short films:


1st Prize:

Just in Time” by Kirsten Winter (Germany)


2nd Prize:

Village of Idiots” by Eugene Fedorenko and Rose Newlove (Canada)


Others awards :


Special Grand Prix of the Festival for his career achievement to:

Ettore Scola

on the occasion of the presentation of his film “La Cena”. This decision is taken jointly by the Festival and the Jury.


Special grand prix of the Americas:

Grand Prix of the Americas have been given during the Festival for their exceptional contribution to the cinematographic art to:

Michael Cacoyannis, director

Walt Disney (received by his daughter Diane Disney Miller)

Richard Dreyfuss, actor

John Dunning & André Link, producers.

Montreal Award for Best First Fiction Feature film:

“Del Olvido al no me acuerdo” (Juan, I Forgot, I don’t Remember) by Juan Carlos Rulfo (Mexico)


Special mentions go to:

“Les Convoyeurs attendent” (The Carriers Are Waiting) by Benoît Mariage (Belgium / France)

“Torowisko” (The Junction) by Urszula Urbaniak (Poland).


Air Canada People’s Award:

“Postmen in the Mountains” by Huo Jianqi (Chine)

The 2nd most popular film was “Goya en Burdeos” by Carlos Saura (Spain).

The 3rd most popular film was “The Colour of Paradise” by Majid Majidi (Iran).


Best Canadian Fedex Film Award

« Souvenirs intimes » by Jean Beaudin.


International Press Award (FIPRESCI)

 “Village of Idiots” by Eugene Fedorenko and Rose Newlove (Canada).

A special mention goes to the film:

“Post Mortem” by Louis Bélanger (Canada).


The Ecumenical Jury Award:

“Goya in Bordeaux” by Carlos Saura (Spain).


Back to Press releases list