The 39th MWFF unveils the line-up of its World competition and First Feature competition

Tuesday August 11, 2022

The Montreal World Film Festival is proud to announce the line-up of its World Competition as well as First Feature Competition. Members of both Juries are also public as of today. “Over the decades, the MWFF has achieved its cultural and an economic mission by offering audiences and professionals a multitude of films, of all genres and provenances,” stated Serge Losique who added “An institution recognized by cineastes the world over, this great cinematic institution has always worked hard to assure its perenniality. It has always been about bringing to Montreal screens the new and interesting films that constitute the best showcase of essential cinema culture.”


This year the number of entries to the MWFF sections has overtaken those of previous years : over 2000 feature and short films (in equal proportion) have been screened by the selection commitee not mentioning the other films viewed during festivals abroad. The number of countries within the selection highlights this increase as 86 countries will be representred during the 39th edition of the Festival. There are 36 World Premieres in those competitions.


World Competition


26 Feature films from 31 pays will compete for the Grand Prize of the Americas.


2 Nights Till Morning by Mikko Kuparinen (Finland-Lithuania) 84 mins

A Havana Moment by Guillermo Ivàn Duenas (USA – Cuba - Mexico – Colombia)

A Matter of Courage byRoberto Gervitz (Brazil – Uruguay) 90 mins

Chucks by Sabine Hiebler, Gerhard Ertl (Austria) 93 mins

Demimonde by Attila  Szàsz (Hungary) 88 mins

Gassoh by Tatsuo Kobayashi  (Japan) 87 mins

Getaway of Love by Tonino Zangardi (Italy) 90 mins

Grey and Black byLuís Filipe Rocha (Portugal – Brazil)

Happy 140 by Gracia Querejeta (Spain) 98 mins

John Hron by Jon Pettersson (Sweden) 127 mins

Mad Love by Philippe Ramos (France) 96 mins

My Enemies by Stéphane Géhami (Canada) 106 mins

On the Road to Berlin by Sergei Popov (Russia) 82 mins

Outliving Emily by Eric Weber (USA) 88 mins

Rider Jack by This Lüscher (Switzerland) 90 mins

Secret by Selim Evci (Turkey) 102 mins

Seven Days by Xing Jian (China) 73 mins

Summer Solstice by Michal Rogalski (Poland – Germany) 95 mins

Taboo by Khosro Masoumi (Iran) 108 mins

The Invisible Artery by Pere Vilà Barcelo (Spain) 119 mins

The Midnight Orchestra by Jérôme Cohen Olivar (Morocco) 114 mins

The Petrov File by Georgi Balabanov (Bulgaria – Germany) 90 mins

The Soul of a Spy by Vladimir Bortko (Russia) 110 mins

The Visitor by Mehmet Erylimaz (Turkey) 127 mins




First Feature Competition


Beijing Carmen by Wang Fan (China) 95 mins

Closer by Mostafa Ahmadi (Iran) 90 mins

Crushed by Megan Riakos (Australia) 111 mins

Das Deckelbad by Kuno Bont (Switzerland) 97 mins

Dear Deer by Takeo Kikuchi (Japan) 107 mins

Fire Birds by Amir Wolf (Israel) 105 mins

Kagurame byYassuo Okuaki (Japan) 112 mins

Legacy by Nemanja  Cipranic (Serbia – Montenegro) 90 mins

Live by Vlad Paunescu (Romania) 107 mins

Lost and found by Show Yanagisawa (Japan) 111 mins

Maresia by Marcos Guttmann (Brazil) 90 mins

Neboke by Norihito Iki (Japan) 115 mins

Our Everyday Life by Ines Tanovic(Bosnia-Hezegovine – Slovenia – Croatia)

Rainbow Without Colours by Tuyen Quang Nguyen (Vietnam) 93 mins

Rosa Chumbe by Jonatan Relayze Chiang (Peru) 75 mins

Orage by Fabrice Camoin (France) 80 mins

Stubborn Boy by Moritz Kramer (Germany) 82 mins

The Funeral by Qi Wang (China) 115 mins

The Plastic Cardboard Sonata by Enrico Falcone, Piero Persello (Italy) 80 mins

The Sum of Histories by Lukas Bossuyt (Belgium – Netherlands) 85 mins

The Thin Yellow Line by Celso Garcia (Mexique) 95 mins

Three Days in September by Darijan Pejovski (Macedonia – Kosovo) 90 mins

To my Beloved by Aly Muritiba (Brazil) 113 mins

Under Heaven by Dalmira Tilepbergen (Khirgizistan) 88 mins

Vals by Anita Lakenberger (Austria) 120 mins


The 39th Montreal World Film Festival and its International Film Market will take place from August 27th to September 7th 2015.


Back to Press releases list