Awards - 29th Canadian Student Film Festival - 1998



Montreal, September 2nd, 1998. After deliberation, the members of the jury have decided to award the following films and videos:


VIACOM Canada Award for the Best New Canadian Student Director :

« LE TEMPS D’AIMER » by Sylvie Chartrand (Université du Québec à Montréal)


Norman McLaren Award :

« LA FILLE QUI, LE GARS QUI » by Michel Simonsen (Concordia University, Montreal)



Awards in the Fiction category :

          Best Fiction film:

« IT’S NOT EASY BEING GREEK » by peter Kambasis (Ryerson, Ontario)

Honorable mention :

« THE MONK, THE APPLE, THE COW AND ITS INFLUENCE » by Karolina Jonsson (Concordia University, Montreal)


          Best Fiction video:

« THIS PRISON HAS NO WALLS » by Anna Keenan (Ryerson, Ontario)

Honorable mention :

« TOMATES TOMATO » by Mathieu Fontaine (Université du Québec à Montréal)


Awards in the Experimental category :

          Best Experimental film:

« TEXTURE » by Annete Salley, Debbie Forbes and Kia Afra (Simon Fraser University, B.C.)

Honorable mention :

« POISSON BLEU » by Robert Yates (Simon Fraser University, B.C.)


          Best Experimental video:

          « REQUIEM » by Seth Poulin (McGill University, Montreal)



Awards in the Documentary category :

          Best documentary films, ex-aequo :

« YOU ARE HERE » by Owen Kydd, Jordan Paterson and Gloria Wong (Simon Fraser University, B.C.)

« YOUNG TURKEYS » by Ian Barbour (University of British Columbia)


          Best documentary video :

« SURVIVRE À L’ÉCHELLE RICHTER » by Araz Artinian (Concordia University, Montreal)


Awards in the Animation category :

          Best Animation film:

          Only one animation was entered in the film category. No prize was awarded.


          Best Animation video:

          « LE TEMPS D’AIMER » by Sylvie Chartrand (Université du Québec à Montréal)


Back to News list